Skip Main Navigation
Main Header
OCAA link Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association Become a Fan - Facebook Follow Us on Instagram Follow Us on Twitter


Tianna Sullivan and Ace Zeng were named the 2017-18 George Brown Huskies Athletes of the Year on Friday night.

The George Brown College Department of Athletics and Recreation celebrated a year of remarkable achievement from its student-athletes at the 49th annual varsity athletic awards banquet on Friday, April 6 at the Marriott City Centre Hotel in Toronto. The event brought together nearly 200 athletes from the eleven men's and women's varsity programs the George Brown Huskies compete in annually in the Ontario Colleges Athletic Association.

George Brown’s top athletes not only excelled across the province of Ontario but were recognized among the best collegiate athletes across the country.

Ace Zeng led the Huskies badminton program to the varsity program’s strongest season in its 50-year history, and was recognized by being named both the Male Athlete of the Year and Rookie of the Year. The incredible freshman established himself as the OCAA’s best singles player early in the season and never looked back, capping his historic campaign with a CCAA silver medal at the national championship. Zeng had qualified via a men’s singles gold medal at the provincial championship, and he went undefeated in both tournament and championship play. Zeng was named the OCAA’s Male Badminton Player of the Year and a CCAA All-Canadian, as well as earning the men’s overall title at provincials.

Tianna Sullivan had a truly remarkable season with the women’s basketball program, and was rewarded as the Female Athlete of the Year. The OCAA’s scoring champion (22 ppg) led the program to a memorable turnaround, as George Brown went from sub-.500 to 15-2 East Division champions in one season. Sullivan was nothing short of dominant on the offensive end; on top of leading the league in scoring, she was second in free-throws made, third in total points, fourth in made field goals, 14th in field goal percentage and 21st in rebounding. She was named both an OCAA 1st Team All-Star and CCAA All-Canadian, and became the women’s basketball programs all-time leading scorer midway through the season.

Ann Hoang was dominant on the women’s singles circuit in her first season as a Husky, and was named Female Rookie of the Year. Hoang won a provincial gold medal, helping lead the Huskies women’s team to their first-ever team championship. She followed that up with an equally impressive performance at the national championship, winning the women’s singles silver medal. Hoang also won the regional championship and was named an OCAA All-Star at season's end.

When it came to Coach of the Year, the Huskies had as deep a roster as any program in the country. Badminton’s Will Schram, Women’s Basketball’s Warren Williams and Men’s Volleyball’s Garrett May all took home not only OCAA Coach of the Year honours, but were CCAA National Coach of the Year nominees. Schram wound up earning the honour thanks to the badminton programs historic season; in just his second season, Huskies badminton had the greatest campaign in 50 years of George Brown athletics. For the first time in its history, the Huskies took home both the men’s and women’s team titles at the Provincial Championship. They followed that up with a best-ever performance at Nationals, earning an incredible four medals, one in each discipline George Brown had a team entered. The Huskies became only the second program in the OCAA’s history to sweep both the men’s and women’s team titles at the OCAA Championship, and they went into the Nationals as the top-ranked team in the country with Schram at the helm.

The Huskies badminton, men’s indoor soccer and women’s basketball teams were up for team of the year honours, and it went to badminton.

Other major award winners included Francesca Girardo (women’s soccer), Neon Ng (men’s volleyball) and Ahmed Youssef (men’s volleyball) winning the Pinball Clemons Leadership Award. Adam Costanzo (men’s basketball) and Tyren Dowding (baseball) won the Kimchan Fitness Award, Jesse Oliver (men’s soccer) won the Alex Barbier Award, Dalmar Ali (men’s soccer) took home the Franklin Gyamfi Award and the Athletic Academic Achievement Award went to Emmanuel Agbaje (cross country).

Images will be coming shortly.

2017-18 Team Most Valuable Player Awards

Ace Zeng - Badminton

Anthony Buonaiuto - Baseball

Adam Costanzo - Men’s Basketball

Tianna Sullivan - Women’s Basketball

Jenna Freeman - Cross Country

Jesse Oliver - Men’s Soccer

Effie Takes - Women’s Soccer

Pradeep Bhogal - Men’s Volleyball

Kelsey Lamprecht - Women’s Volleyball 

Shaquille Agard - Men’s Indoor Soccer

Cynthia Pellegrino - Women’s Indoor Soccer