Skip Main Navigation
Main Header
OCAA link Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association Become a Fan - Facebook Follow Us on Instagram Follow Us on Twitter



The George Brown College Department of Athletics and Recreation celebrated a year of remarkable achievement from its student-athletes at the 48th annual varsity athletics awards banquet on Friday, April 7 at the Chelsea hotel in Toronto. The event brought together nearly 200 athletes and coaches from the eleven Men's and Women's varsity programs that the George Brown Huskies compete in annually in the Ontario Colleges Athletic Association.  

George Brown’s top athletes not only excelled across the province of Ontario but were recognized among the best collegiate athletes in the country.  


Men’s Indoor and Outdoor Soccer player Shaquille Agard earned George Brown’s Male Athlete of the Year after leading the Huskies to a gold medal in the Indoor season and bronze in the Outdoor. The 6’0” lightning quick striker capped his outdoor season with a two goal performance in the bronze medal clinching win over Niagara, bringing his season total to nine. He followed that by nearly reaching twenty goals in the Indoor season, one in which the Huskies won five of the six tournaments they entered. At Provincials, Agard scored six goals en route to George Brown capturing the gold medal. He was an OCAA All-Star, OCAA Indoor Soccer Provincial Championship Tournament MVP, and now officially George Brown’s Male Athlete of the Year. 


Angeline Alviar capped an excellent second year as a Husky by being named Female Athlete of the Year. The Civil Engineering Technology student led the Huskies to an impressive campaign, capped off by a Provincial bronze medal in Mixed Doubles play. The medal marked the second consecutive year that Alviar has medalled at the Provincial Championship. She kicked her season off with a podium finish at the Humber Invitational, and carried that momentum throughout the season. She also finished on the podium at the Huskies own Invitational, and finished runner-up in Mixed Doubles at the Regional Qualifier. 


Twenty-five athletes received an OCAA All-Academic Award for achieving honor status in their programs while also representing George Brown in their respective sport. Badminton’s Yunji Kim and Men’s Volleyball’s Stephen Duong were awarded the Athletic Academic Excellence Award for their accomplishments both in their sport and in the classroom. 


Other major award winners on the night included Badminton’s Alex Chao and Women’s Basketball’s Kiyann Grimaldo, who were named the Male and Female Rookies of the Year respectively. Chao captured a silver medal at the OCAA Championship, as well as taking home the top spot at the George Brown Invitational and Regional Championship. Grimaldo was named to the OCAA’s All-Rookie team, while averaging over 13 points and 7 rebounds a game in establishing herself among Ontario’s top young front-court players.  


Men’s Basketball Head Coach Jonathan Smith led the Huskies to a 19-1 regular season record and the program’s first trip to the National Championship in 41 years, earning Coach of the Year honours. 


Women’s Basketball’s Krystal Elento was awarded the Pinball Clemons Sportsmanship Award, while Badminton’s Ivan Chan and Women’s Volleyball’s Pao Ming Lee were given the Pinball Clemons Sportsmanship Award. The Men’s Basketball and Men’s Indoor Soccer team were both recognized for incredible season’s, splitting the Team of the Year Award. 


Athletics would also like to thank the great supporters of the program. A special thanks goes out to the Chelsea Hotel Toronto, Adidas, Athletic Edge Sport Medicine, Big Kahuna, Budget Car, The Pinball Clemons Foundation, The Student Association of George Brown College, George Brown Athletic Alumni, Kim Ng, Marc Madramootoo, National Fitness, Pacific Western, Rouge Campus Media, TOPS Volleyball, Toronto College of Sports Media, Vital CPR and Westmount Hospitality.

For the full listing of Team MVP’s and Commitment to Excellence Award Winners see below.

For images from the night click here. For the 2016/17 Season Highlight Video click here.


 2016/17 Team Most Valuable Player Award Winners 


 Badminton – Alex Chao 

 Women's Basketball – Tianna Sullivan  

 Men's Basketball – Ajahmo Clarke 

 Cross Country Running – Leanne Sanders 

 Women's Indoor Soccer – Julia Kassner 

 Men's Indoor Soccer – Shaquille Agard 

 Women’s Outdoor Soccer - Natalie Mangos 

 Men’s Outdoor Soccer - Shaquille Agard 

 Women's Volleyball – Pao Ming Lee 

 Men's Volleyball – Pradeep Bhogal 


 2016/17 Sport Commitment to Excellence Award Winners 


 Badminton – Tiffany Yeung 

 Women's Basketball – Angel Mbikay 

 Men's Basketball – Kevon Mascoe 

 Cross Country Running – Jeff Snow 

 Women's Indoor Soccer – Farrah Sheikh 

 Men's Indoor Soccer – Steve Efstathiadis 

 Women’s Outdoor Soccer - Elaine MacPherson 

 Men’s Outdoor Soccer - Anthony Lombardi 

 Women's Volleyball – Kesley-Jane Lamprecht 

 Men's Volleyball – Hendrik Jakobson