Skip Main Navigation
Main Header
OCAA link Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association Become a Fan - Facebook Follow Us on Instagram Follow Us on Twitter



Lyndon Vase of the men’s outdoor and indoor soccer teams and Sharlane Macleod of the cross country team were named Coach Canada Athletes of the Year at the 47th annual George Brown Athletic Awards Banquet held on April 8th at the Chelsea Hotel in Toronto.

Third-year midfielder Vase led his indoor soccer team to an Ontario Colleges Athletic Association (OCAA) bronze medal, beating Sheridan College 3-0 in the final game. A member of the OCAA All-Academic team, he was also selected as the indoor soccer MVP. He will be graduating this year from the Heating, Ventilation and Air Conditioning program.

Macleod was selected as the cross country MVP after a fantastic season finishing fifth in the OCAA Championships, completing the five kilometre course in 21:20 and leading her team to an OCAA bronze medal. She was named to the OCAA All-First team and qualified for the Canadian College Athletic Association (CCAA) Nationals where she finished 25th. The second year runner was also named to the OCAA All-Academic team and nominated for the Class of 2010 award. She is also graduating this season from the Fashion Techniques and Design program.

The National Fitness Rookies of the Year were awarded to Robert Mijackovic of the men’s indoor and outdoor soccer teams and Angeline Alviar of the badminton team.

Mijackovic locked up the male award after being a key piece on both indoor and outdoor programs. The strong left back defender helped bring home a provincial bronze medal, assisting his team in a shutout win the bronze medal match. He was also selected to the OCAA All-Academic team.

Alviar was named the top female rookie after a decorated first-year with the Huskies. She earned an OCAA Provincial silver medal with doubles partner Yunji Kim and qualified for the CCAA National Championships hosted in Vancouver Island.

Manager of Athletics, Melanie Gerin-Lajoie felt the night was a true reflection of the department, highlighting the many exemplary athletes at the college. As a former varsity basketball player at McGill University, she understands how important it is to recognize athlete’s achievements in sport and the classroom.  

“They (athletes) devote countless hours of training and competition to our varsity programs on top of the existing pressures of academic studies and part-time work as well in most cases, so we owe it to them to host an evening that takes the time to celebrate their accomplishments and achievements and shows them how much we appreciate their dedication,” Gerin-Lajoie said.

New to this year’s event was the Team of the Year and Coach of the Year awards. The top team went to the OCAA bronze medalist men’s indoor soccer, while 35 year badminton bench boss, Kim Ng, received the top coach’s honour.

Ng, who is stepping down as coach this season, leaves behind a badminton legacy. He has been an OCAA Coach of the Year on multiple occasions, coached current George Brown and OCAA hall of fame athletes, and led his teams to numerous provincial and national medals.

Unique to this event was a special Length of Service award presented to Albert Da Silva. He has been with the George Brown Athletics staff for over 35 years. Originally recruited to play basketball for the Huskies by the late Alex Barbier, he was part of the 1974-75 OCAA and CCAA gold medalist team. After completing his diploma, he joined the athletics staff. During his time, he has coached both men’s and women’s varsity basketball programs as well as flag football, volleyball and many extramural teams.

“35 years of services speaks for itself; it isn’t a luxury most organizations have, to have individuals on staff who carry that much knowledge, passion, commitment and history within them daily. Finding a place in an environment you love and wanting to get up to make a difference in that environment every day isn’t a trait that is always easy to find. So with us having the great privilege of not only one, but two members of our staff who fit that mold was something we couldn’t overlook in highlighting,” Gerin-Lajoie said. “They have both been integral parts of our George Brown Huskies family for over 3 decades, and hopefully their legacy will continue to press on far past that.”

Other George Brown Huskies winning awards were those chosen as Most Valuable Players for their respective teams:

Badminton: Tomomi Tamura

Basketball: (Men) Dejazmatch James; (Women) Angel MBikay

Baseball: Andrew Murrell

Cross Country: Sharlane Macleod

Soccer (Men): Anthony Lombardi (Outdoor); Lyndon Vase (Indoor)

Soccer (Women): Chelsea Fraser (Outdoor); Julia Kassner (Indoor)

Volleyball: (Men) D’Artaniel Jackman; (Women) Julia Vit

As well as Commitment to Excellence Awards handed out to a player from each team:

Badminton: Yunji Kim

Basketball: (Men) Javaughan Davis; (Women) Emily Cadman

Baseball: Seth Annan

Cross Country: Joanita Louw

Soccer (Men): Aris Efstahiadis (Outdoor); Pawel Horoszczak (Indoor)

Soccer (Women): Rana Hamdy (Outdoor); Anastasia Grekos (Indoor)

Volleyball: (Men) Eoghan Bracken-Murphy; (Women) Katie Allward

Other special awards of the night include:

  • Michael "Pinball" Clemons Award: D’Artaniel Jackman
  • Frankie Gyamfi Scholarship Fund: Brandon Goin Bailey and Bonnie Tran
  • KC Fitness Award: Elaine Macpherson and Dejazmatch James
  • Men's Basketball Award: Brandon Mcglone
  • Alex Barbier Award: Alex Lekkas
  • Class of 2010 Award: Tomomi Tamura
  • Student Therapist Award: Stefanie Ferreira
  • Athletic Academic Achievement: Katie Allward and Adrienne Scott
  • Student Association Award Scholarships: Curtis Cobean and Chelsea Fraser (GPA); Josh Taylor and Joanita Louw (Participation)
  • Contribution to Athletics Award (Vital CPR): Britany Mathison, Dane Gordon, Jesse Oliver and Justine Perla
  • Special Recognition Award: Teshayn Lawrence-Gayle, Shawnique Findlayter-Stephenson, Maria Costa, Allan Moore, Shannon ten Brink, Ashley Estwick, Michelle Hahn, Brian Mulveney and Astier Ghebrehiwot