George Brown College's Green Team

In 2005/06, a Green Team was created as part of the College Council structure. In 2006/07, in an effort to better leverage and align college-wide Green initiatives with the college's strategic plan, the Green Team became an official committee of the college Co-Chaired by the Vice President of Corporate Services, Eugene Harrigan, and the Dean of the Centre for Construction and Engineering Technologies, Nancy Sherman. 

Specific accountabilities of the Green Team include:

  • identify short-term greening initiatives to engage and educate the College community in conservation and demand management practices;
  • develop a long term strategy (Green Plan) for the greening of campus operations and facilities aimed at increasing efficiency, reducing waste, increasing diversion of waste and conserving resources;
  • ensure the alignment of College-wide Green initiatives with the College's strategic plan;
  • provide a forum to integrate sustainability themes within College curriculum related to program and course curricula;
  • provide a forum to link College curriculum related to environmental sustainability to other corporate services, and in particular related to the college plant;
  • establish and manage sub-committees to study specific environmental issues as required, to gather stakeholder input and ideas, and to build accountability and buy-in for recommended solutions and policies to address specific environmental issues.
  • carry out a campus sustainability assessment and develop a sustainability "report card" that can be updated and reviewed annually by the College;
  • identify opportunities for transforming the College's campuses into learning laboratories for demonstration of sustainable technologies, and
  • support faculty in developing curricula to prepare students with skills required to tackle the challenges of a sustainable society.

Subcommittees of the Green Team have been formed to address different areas for improvement
including:

  • Policies and Green Procurement;
  • Paper use;
  • Food Services;
  • Sustainable Transportation;
  • Communications and Awareness; and
  • Sustainability in the Curriculum.

Reporting Structure

The Committee, through the Chairs, will make recommendations to the President and Management Committees on substantive College policy changes.

Operation

  • The Green Team will meet once every two months and at the call of the Chairs.
  • Meetings will be open to all interested parties throughout the college.
  • Those interested in making presentations to the committee will be scheduled as appropriate into the agenda.
  • Approved minutes will be kept of all meetings and posted on Insite at http://insite.georgebrown.ca/.

Members' Responsibilities

  • In establishing policies and resolving issues, Green Team members are expected to act on behalf of the College overall.
  • Each member is expected to attend all meetings.

Members are be expected to have a mandate from their areas to participate in proposing initiatives and for being responsible to link this back to their areas as appropriate for implementation.

Green Team Members:

Co-Chairs

Name: Title: Division / Company: Email:
Co-Chairs      
Mark Nesbitt Vice-President Corporate Services mnesbitt@georgebrown.ca
Rick Huijbregts Vice-President Strategy and Innovation rick.huijbregts@georgebrown.ca

Members

Name: Title: Division / Company: Email:
Ashley Booth Professor Pre-Community Services, School of College and Work Preparation  
Joe Bogdan Manager, Campus Stores Corporate Services jbogdan@georgebrown.ca
Daniel Caunter Project Manager, Green Building Research and Innovation dcaunter@georgebrown.ca
Ronnie Cruz Community Coordinator Student Assocation communitycoordinator@sagbc.ca
Cherry Ding Member Services Student Assocation memberservicesft2@sagbc.ca
Michael Eliadis Simluation Centre Manager Nursing, Centre for Health Sciences michael.eliadis@georgebrown.ca
Paul Falcitelli Campus Manager, Waterfront Campus Facilities Management pfalcitelli@georgebrown.ca
Hooman Farhangnia Campus Manager, Casa Loma Campus Facilities Management hfarhangnia@georgebrown.ca
Rose Fracassa Acting Chair, Fashion Studies Fashion Studies rfracass@georgebrown.ca
Courtney Hayes Student Sustainability Squad Leader Project Management courtney.hayes2@georgebrown.ca
Mandy Heer Assistant to the Chair School of Liberal Arts & Sciences  mheer@georgebrown.ca
Norm Javier Student Life Assistant Student Service & Campus Life: Student Orientation njavier@georgebrown.ca
Andrew Johnston Professor, Culinary Arts & Hospitality Studies Hospitality and Culinary Arts ajohnston@georgebrown.ca
Graeme Kondruss Manager, Academic Space & Design Planning Planning Arts, Design & Informatics gkondruss@georgebrown.ca
Deepak Naik Professor, Denturism Program Community Services and Health Sciences dnaik@georgebrown.ca
Sandra Neill Professor & Curriculum Specialist Academic Excellence sneill@georgebrown.ca
Jennifer Hinton Residential Life Manager The George jhinton@georgebrown.ca
Karla Orantes Senior Coordinator, Academic Advocacy Student Assocation academicadvocacy@sagbc.ca
David Parker Professor Centre for Preparatory & Liberal Studies : Liberal Arts & Sciences dparker@georgebrown.ca
Judy Rupert First Aid Attendant Human Resouces, Health & Saftey  
Paul Ruppert Chief Information Officer Presidents Office pruppert@georgebrown.ca
Wisam Makoul General Manager Chartwell's Food Service  Geetha.Ramasamy@compass-canada.com
Milton Safos Campus Manager, St. James Campus Facilities Management msafos@georgebrown.ca
Erica Saunders Corporate Buyer, Purchasing  Finance Department esaunders@georgebrown.ca
Ashley Sullivan Manager, Student Integration and Support International and Immigrant Education asullivan@georgebrown.ca
Geoff Swift Senior Manager Finance Department gswift@georgebrown.ca
Allan Thomson Operation Manager Centre for Continuous Learning athomson@georgebrown.ca
Helene Vukovich Associate Dean Business, Arts and Design  hvukovich@georgebrown.ca
Grace Whang Project Coordinator Community Partnership Office LeahKyunglye.Edwards@georgebrown.ca
Joanne Williamson Training and Development Associate Staff Development Jwilliamson6@georgebrown.ca
Annie Zurakowsky Assistant to the Director Marketing and Communications azurakow@georgebrown.ca
Stephanie Foster GBC Green Team/Sustainability Co-ordinator Corporate Services stephanie.foster@georgebrown.ca

 

Admin Support

Name: Title: Division / Company: Email:
Fatima Gata Executive Assistant to the VP of Corporate Services President's Office fgata@georgebrown.ca
Baaba Lewis Adminstrative Assistant Office of Applied Research blewis@georgebrown.ca