AODA Standards

Accessibility standards are rules that persons and organizations have to follow to identify, remove and prevent barriers.  The five standards that were identified and have been developed are:

  • Customer Service
  • Transportation
  • Built Environment
  • Information and Communications
  • Employment

The Customer Service standard is now law.  Under the act, we will have to comply with specific requirements.  If you would like additional information regarding this standard, the Accessibility Directorate has developed a guide to help you understand the standard.  You can access this guide which is available in three different formats at the Accessibility for Ontarians with Disabilities Act website Open New Browser Window (Ministry of Community and Social Services).


Quick Links: